Daily Prompt: Expert

via Daily Prompt: Expert

It has been said that it takes 10,000 hours to become an expert. I should be an expert parent by now, having parented 24/7 for over 12 years. I should be an expert nurse, having worked over 1,000 hours a year (and much more) for 20 years. I should be an expert on Haiti, having spent over 10,000 hours there.

But I am not an expert at any of this. I can’t do any of this on my own, I don’t have any of it figured out. I need my amazing husband to help me through the day to day of raising a family, my great friends to talk it out. I need google and lots of advice. I still need my Haitian Creole books when, inevitably, there is a new Creole word I don’t know or a proverb that makes no sense to me.

But mostly, I need my God because with him all things are possible and with him I receive daily grace! Grace is more than I could ever earn,  it’s help I don’t deserve. Grace is forgiveness and third and fourth, and tenth chances.

Today, if like me, you know you still aren’t an expert- just count on the grace of God. He will be there.

Leave a Reply

