What are you Supposed to be Doing?

This comes up often at my house with my little boy. He is a bit like his momma and gets easily distracted by screens of all sizes! So I frequently have to re-direct him back to his homework or chores, “Nathan, what are you supposed to be doing right now?”

But I understand how easy it is to be distracted -or more often- to use the screens as an escape from the hard work I KNOW I am supposed to be doing. I know without a doubt that right now I am supposed to be speaking on behalf of “the least of these”, my friends in Haiti. It’s hard. I fear rejection. I fear wearing people out with these Haiti stories. I fear big growth in our ministry. I say I want it, but the truth is- change is difficult, it’s scary. I also simply fear not doing it well. I want to tell my friends’ stories well, to honor them and their need.
20160929_075438.jpgAt the Cherished retreat last weekend I was given a nametag and told to write down a lie I believe about myself. I wrote “I am not enough”. Later that day we all threw away the lies we had written and took a new nametag with a Biblical truth to wear instead. Mine was “Made for a purpose” and referenced the verse Esther 4:14.

Now remember, I am struggling with speaking up- more often and with more boldness- for the needs in Haiti. This morning I looked up Esther 4:14 and was again amazed at the way God gets his words in front of us at just the right time.

“For if you remain silent at this time, relief and deliverance for the Jews will arise from another place, but you and your father’s family will perish. And who knows but that you have come to your royal position for such a time as this?”

This is what God said to me: Nicole, if you are silent now, relief and deliverance for Haiti will arise from another place but I prepared you for this moment. I put you in your current position for such a time as this! Now, pause HULU and get going!

I am scared but ready. I would like to speak and share these stories. If you are planning a retreat, a luncheon or an event of any kind please contact me. I would be honored to share our ministry with your group. Check out www.hutoutreach.org then contact me nicolecoulter@hotmail.com. #doitafraid

Leave a Reply

