Spirit lead me

bracelet-pic

Two weeks ago I was walking around a vintage fair and found this bracelet that said ‘fear not’.  It was at a booth of gorgeous jewelry created by Genesis One Designs. I wanted to get one more because two is better than one right? So I chose this gold tone one that says ‘spirit lead me’. I rocked my new bracelets and found myself singing ‘Spirit lead me where my trust is without borders…’ That’s all I could remember of the song so I sang that line over and over for a week.

Then Hurricane Matthew hit my beloved Haiti and I felt strongly that I needed to know more lyrics to that song. I started a google search, and I found it, Oceans by Hillsong. I have heard this song a few times, yet I never knew the whole thing. I need this song right now. At home I am struggling. When those we love are facing tragedy, uncertainty and pain, going through the motions of life feels impossible.  It’s incredibly difficult to make the right decisions. My dear friends in Haiti are suffering and sometimes praying seems like not enough. Yet here are some of the lyrics:

And I will call upon Your name
And keep my eyes above the waves
When oceans rise
My soul will rest in Your embrace
For I am Yours and You are mine

 Your grace abounds in deepest waters
Your sovereign hand
Will be my guide

Spirit lead me where my trust is without borders
Let me walk upon the waters
Wherever You would call me
Take me deeper than my feet could ever wander
And my faith will be made stronger
In the presence of my Savior

In my heart this song spoke to me, after this terrible storm devastated my dear Haiti. This is my prayer this week. I pray that I am ready and willing to go wherever you would call me, even if that is Haiti without electricity or security but with increased risk of cholera. I pray that in the midst of your storm, whatever it is this week, that this song would touch your heart too.

Listen to Oceans here.

For more information on what’s happening in Haiti follow along on facebook @hutoutreach or Donate via paypal here.

Leave a Reply

