Holding On

“Our roof didn’t blow away, my husband tied ropes around it and we all held on during the hurricane.”

Can you imagine being huddled inside a shack on the side of a mountain as 150 mile per hour winds blew over your head?  Can you imagine working together as a family to hold tight to ropes that are holding the house together?

As Rosna told me this story I began to cry. My only response was gras Bondye, nou gin fos. ‘By the grace of God you have strength.’ The people of Haiti are so incredibly strong. Their faith, resilience and determination inspire me everyday.

Although difficult, this trip has inspired me, just as Haiti always does.

Leave a Reply

