Generosity

wp-1481281908382.jpgThis quote shook up my view on generosity.  I know the parable of the widow who gave her last 2 coins. I’ve heard the sermons and read the Bible regarding the rich man and his greed. And I always felt I was a generous person but then, I read this. I have kept so much.

This month is pretty much a 30 day excuse to spend money. I have Christmas savings set aside and I want to spend it all. I want to just enjoy going to the mall and buying frivolous things or filling a cart at Target like the old days, when I bought what I wanted on a credit card without caring. But the cash spends harder. We work hard for that money. I don’t want to waste it on a game that will never get played, or a shirt that will barely be worn, or a toy that will be tossed aside, unused.

In my adult life I have wasted a lot of money, haven’t we all? I have also spent a bit of money on things I don’t regret: travel, books, experiences with my kids, and hosting big family dinners and parties. But the one thing I spend money on that I never regret is this- giving.

When I- I’m switching to we now for my husband and I- when we give it’s sometimes painful, challenging. But we never regret it because it lasts. When needs arise in Haiti and we are able to pay a kid’s high school tuition or buy them needed school supplies- it feels good. When we were able to pay medical expenses for an old Haitian friend it satisfies in a way that shopping never could.

After all, the giving is not for us, or even for them. Really it’s for the kingdom.

Whatever you did for the least of these brothers of mine, you did for me. Matthew 25:40

Give extravagantly, it’s worth it.

Leave a Reply

